Election hopefuls revealed: WITNEY and CARTERTON

As well as the general election, Oxfordshire’s residents will also get the chance to vote in district, town and parish council elections on May 7.

Last Thursday, the candidates that will contest the seats on offer were announced.

Vale of White Horse and South Oxfordshire district councils have all of their seats up for grabs – the last elections having taken place in 2011.

Their ward boundaries have been revised for 2015, with the Vale reducing their number of councillors from 51 to 38, and South Oxfordshire going from 48 to 36.

Elsewhere, West Oxfordshire District Council have 17 of their 49 councillors up for election, while Cherwell District Council are electing councillors to 17 of their 50 seats.

Six Witney seats and three Carterton seats are up for election to West Oxfordshire District Council in May.

No elections for Oxford City Council are taking place this year.

CARTERTON NORTH EAST (one councillor):

Mike BaggaleyLiberal Democrat
Paul CreightonGreen Party
Leandra EdmandsUkip
Norman MacRaeThe Conservative Party
Dave WessonLabour Party

CARTERTON NORTH WEST (one councillor):

Pete HandleyThe Conservative Party
Andy KingGreen Party
Barclay LawrenceUkip
Melvin LongLabour Party
Mark MannLiberal Democrat

CARTERTON SOUTH (one councillor):

Tony BarrettGreen Party
Michael BrennanThe Conservative Party
Peter MaddenLiberal Democrat
Moira SwannLabour Party
Martyn WebbUkip

WITNEY CENTRAL (one councillor):

Christopher BlountLiberal Democrat
Peter DorwardThe Conservative Party
Jenny GuildfordGreen Party
Clive TaylorUkip
Kate WalshLabour Party

WITNEY EAST (one councillor):

Jeanette BakerThe Conservative Party
Ross BeadleLiberal Democrat
Kate GriffinGreen Party
Duncan HumeLabour Party
James MawlUkip

WITNEY NORTH (one councillor):

William GriffithsLiberal Democrat
Brigitte HickmanGreen Party
Richard LangridgeThe Conservative Party
Trevor LicenseLabour Party
Stephen WestwoodUkip

WITNEY SOUTH (one councillor):

Alvin AdamsThe Conservative Party
Alex FriendGreen Party
Stephen ParkinsonLabour Party
James RobertshawUkip
Emma TattonLiberal Democrat

WITNEY WEST (one councillor):

Harry EaglestoneThe Conservative Party
Max EverettUkip
Calvert McGibbonLabour Party
Rosanna PearsonGreen Party
Diane WestLiberal Democrat

WITNEY WEST AND BAMPTON (one councillor):

Liz LeffmanLiberal Democrat
Calvert McGibbonLabour Party
James MillsThe Conservative Party
Nick OwenGreen Party
Jim StanleyUkip