The Most Iconic Formula 1 Cars To Date

For most of the last century, Formula 1 has represented the pinnacle of motorsport and automotive engineering. The F1 series, which consists of numerous teams that create, produce, and race cars in accordance with predetermined rules, is frequently referred to as the highest class of worldwide motorsport competition. Formula 1 is deliberately crafted to encourage innovation and originality within the sport and changes each year.

As a result, numerous new technologies have been created specifically for the automotive sector. In this sense, engineering a successful Formula 1 car can benefit the promotion and advancement of vehicles within the industry. 

Due to the popularity of the F1, the number plate ‘F1’ has become the world’s most expensive plate. It was bought in 2008 for £440, 625 by entrepreneur Afzal Khan and it was known that he fitted it onto his Bugatti Veyron Super Sport. Since his purchase, he’s had many high offers, including a £10,000,000 offer that he declined. If you’re an F1 super fan looking for a plate to place on your vehicle, you can learn more about private plates with Click4Reg.

Here are 10 of the most recognisable Formula 1 cars ever, though you could just jump to your favourite team or car.

Ferrari Tipo 500

The Ferrari Tipo 500 was theoretically a Formula 2 racing vehicle that competed in events that followed F2 rules, such as the official World Championship. Aurelio Lampredi was the genius behind this great engineering achievement, which helped the team win two Drivers’ and two Constructors’ Championships.

The Ferrari Tipo 500 was a tubular-framed, single-seat Formula 2 vehicle. The front and rear suspensions of the car were double wishbones, respectively. Additionally, a Lampredi L4 engine with a 4-speed manual transmission was installed in the Tipo 500.

Lotus 72

For the 1970 Formula One season, Colin Chapman and Maurice Philippe created the Lotus 72. Inboard brakes and side-mounted radiators were features of this new Lotus model’s sidepods. The Lotus 72 had a naturally aspirated V8 that was capable of producing over 440 horsepower at more than 10,000 rpm.

This vehicle served as Lotus’ foundation from 1970 through 1975. Lotus was successful in capturing three Constructors’ Championships and two Drivers’ Championships during this time. This comprised around 20 victories and 39 podium finishes.

McLaren MP4 4
McLaren MP4/4

McLaren MP4/4

One of McLaren’s most popular Formula One vehicles in history was the MP4/4. The MP4/4 was built using a carbon fibre honeycomb monocoque, double wishbone suspension, and a 6-speed manual transmission. It was created in partnership with Honda’s powertrain.

A turbocharged V6 engine that was installed in the McLaren MP4/4 was capable of producing between 650 and 700 horsepower at more than 12,000 rpm. Both Alain Prost and Ayrton Senna raced the F1 car, with Senna eventually taking home the 1988 Drivers’ Championship.

Williams FW14/B

Williams created and debuted the FW14/B for the 1992 Formula 1 season. By winning a season-high nine races, the Williams vehicle, driven by Mansell, was able to secure the 1992 Drivers’ Championship.

A Renault V10 engine that could easily produce over 700 horsepower at 12,000 rpm was used to power the Williams. The pushrod, inboard spring suspension of the 1991 model, was replaced with active suspension for the 1992 season.

Benetton B195

The Benetton B195, created by Formula 1 veteran Ross Brawn, won the 1995 Formula 1 World Championship. The Renault-powered B195 had a V10 engine that could generate over 675 horsepower at more than 15,000 rpm.

The B195 gained notoriety for helping Michael Schumacher win the Drivers’ World Championship for the first time in 1995. With four pole positions and eight fastest lap prizes, the outstanding race car finished first in 11 of its 17 races.

Ferrari F2002
Ferrari F2002

Ferrari F2002

The Ferrari F2002 is undeniably one of the most popular and successful Formula 1 vehicles in recent memory. Scuderia Ferrari Marlboro created and produced the Ferrari F2002 for the Formula 1 World Championship’s 2002 campaign. The Ferrari F2002 replaced the F2001 with a naturally aspirated 3-liter V10 and a brand-new 7-speed automatic transmission.

At more than 17,000 rpm, this engine managed to generate 835 horsepower. During the 2002 and 2003 racing seasons, this model achieved 15 race victories, 28 podium finishes, 11 pole positions, and 15 fastest-lap honours. As a result, Ferrari was able to win the Constructors’ and Drivers’ Championships at the same time.

Brawn BGP 001

One of the most distinctive and successful Formula 1 team in history is Brawn. This is because Brawn, in their first and only season in Formula 1, was able to successfully navigate the new rules in 2009 and take both the Constructors’ and Drivers’ Championships. The Mercedes-Benz 2.4-liter naturally aspirated V8 was coupled to a wishbone and pushrod-triggered suspension in the Brawn BGP 001. The 750 horsepower engine was created for several cars on the grid that year, but Brawn’s dynamic aerodynamic package made it efficient. As a result, the team won their first and only Constructors’ Championship, while Jenson Button won his lone Drivers’ Championship.

Red Bull RB9

The RB9, on the other hand, is unquestionably among the most recognisable and famous Formula 1 cars in recent memory. The Renault-powered RB9, which was produced for the 2013 Formula 1 season, had a horsepower rating of over 750!

The 2013 Formula 1 season was fiercely competitive as a development war between some of the top teams, despite Red Bull’s winning streak. Red Bull had a lot of work to do in the second half of the season after finishing first and sixth in the opening race. This enabled Vettel to win 9 straight Grands Prix and earn his fourth consecutive World Championship.

Mercedes F1 W07 Hybrid

Although the W05 was Mercedes-fifth Benz’s F1 vehicle, it was also their first model to win a championship. The Mercedes W05 was the first F1 vehicle with a hybrid powertrain, and it was created by some of the best F1 engineers. The 1.6-liter Hybrid V6 engine had an electric motor and an ERS system for added power, and it produced over 800 horsepower.

Mercedes won their first-ever Constructors’ and Drivers’ Championship with the help of a turbocharged engine and carbon fibre body. The W05 won 16 of the 19 races in 2014, with Hamilton and Rosberg finishing first and second in 11 of them. The W05 finished with 16 victories, 31 podiums, 18 pole positions, and 12 fastest lap honours overall. This makes it one of the most successful and imposing F1 cars and a big reason why Lewis Hamilton is considered one of the greatest F1 drivers of all time.

Mercedes-AMG W11 EQ
Mercedes-AMG W11 EQ

Mercedes-AMG W11 EQ Performance

The Mercedes W11 significantly increased the level of dominance that the Mercedes-Benz F1 team had been exhibiting at the time. This resulted from the development of dynamic, new motorsport technology, especially for the 2020 season, as well as the refinement of the turbo-hybrid power unit.

Mercedes created a dual-axis steering system (DAS) for the 2020 Formula One season, despite its controversy. This enables the driver to adjust the angle of the front wheels by pushing and pulling on the steering wheel. The modification in angle produced a genuinely dominant performance in the 2020 season by allowing for increased grip in specific areas of the course. Given that the W11 was able to win 13 out of the 17 races, Lewis Hamilton was able to win his record-tying seventh World Drivers’ Championship as a result.